Biloxi in Harrison County, Mississippi — The American South (East South Central)
Essence of Biloxi
Driving & Bicycling Trail
A Trip through Biloxi's History
Archaeological artifacts and evidence prove the existence of prehistoric and historic Native Americans on the Biloxi peninsula long before the first French expedition. The name Biloxi, which means First People, is the legacy of the historic tribe that greeted French-Canadian explorer Pierre LeMoyne d'Iberville when he and his crew landed on these shores in February 1699.
Biloxi's over three century history is the story of many and culturally diverse peoples. Explore that history, discover those cultures and see what makes this city so unique. This self-guided tour, divided into an east and west route, features 43 historic architectural, cultural and environmental stops. Both routes begin here at the Biloxi Visitors Center. Each will take approximately two hours to complete. Spend the day discovering Biloxi and all it has to offer.
Topics. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: Anthropology & Archaeology • Exploration • Native Americans. A significant historical month for this entry is February 1699.
Location. 30° 23.699′ N, 88° 54.075′ Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 1050 Beach Blvd, Biloxi MS 39530, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. High Water Mark (a few steps from this marker); Pierre LeMoyne Sieur d'Iberville (a few steps from this marker); The Evolution of Biloxi Tourism (a few steps from this marker); The Memorial Garden (within shouting distance of this marker); Archaeological Findings (within shouting distance of this marker); French Colonial Memorial Garden (within shouting distance of this marker); The Moran Site History (within shouting distance of this marker); Moran Site (within shouting distance of this marker). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Biloxi.
Credits. This page was last revised on December 6, 2020. It was originally submitted on December 6, 2020, by TeamOHE of Wauseon, Ohio. This page has been viewed 34 times since then and 2 times this year. Photos: 1, 2. submitted on December 6, 2020, by TeamOHE of Wauseon, Ohio. • Bernard Fisher was the editor who published this page.