Lusby in Calvert County, Maryland — The American Northeast (Mid-Atlantic)
The Cliffs of Calvert
Captain John Smith
and marked on his map.
One of the most unusual
natural curiosities in the
state. →
Erected 1937 by State Roads Commission.
Topics and series. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: Colonial Era • Natural Features. In addition, it is included in the Maryland Historical Trust series list. A significant historical year for this entry is 1608.
Location. 38° 23.715′ N, 76° 26.181′ W. Marker is in Lusby, Maryland, in Calvert County. It is on H.G. Trueman Road (Maryland Route 765) 0.6 miles north of Cove Point Road ( Route 497), on the right. Marker is located about 200 feet inside the Calvert Cliffs State park along the entrance way. Touch for map. Marker is in this post office area: Lusby MD 20657, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Regionally, this marker is in Southern Maryland. It is also in the American South, specifically in the Upper South, in the Mid-Atlantic, in the Tidewater, in the Chesapeake Bay Region, and on the Eastern Seaboard. Globally, it is in the North Atlantic Region, North America, the Western Hemisphere, the Western World, and the Anglosphere. Historically, it finds itself in what was once one of the original Thirteen Colonies and also the Antebellum South.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within 3 miles of this marker, measured as the crow flies: Middleham Chapel (approx. Ό mile away); Cove Point Lighthouse (approx. half a mile away); Morgan Hill Farm (approx. 1½ miles away); Preston on Patuxent (approx. 1.8 miles away); Welcome to Cove Point Lighthouse and Grounds (approx. 3 miles away); Cove Point Beach (approx. 3 miles away); Calvert Cliffs / Cove Point LNG Platform / Chesapeake Bay (approx. 3 miles away); Enlisted Quarters (approx. 3 miles away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Lusby.
Credits. This page was last revised on December 21, 2024. It was originally submitted on November 10, 2007, by F. Robby of Baltimore, Maryland. This page has been viewed 2,402 times since then and 48 times this year. Photos: 1. submitted on July 17, 2024, by Rico Ramirez of Prince Frederick, Maryland. 2, 3, 4, 5. submitted on November 10, 2007, by F. Robby of Baltimore, Maryland. • J. J. Prats was the editor who published this page.




