Alexandria, Virginia — The American South (Mid-Atlantic)
115 Prince Street
The original house on this site was built in 1783. It was destroyed in the great fire of January 18, 1827, which consumed 53 houses and numerous outbuildings in Old Town.
The current brick house was built in 1853-54 on the original foundation by Frederick Vaccari, a shipping master. The house was restored in 1996.
Topics. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: Colonial Era • Man-Made Features.
Location. 38° 48.196′ N, 77° 2.47′ W. Marker is in Alexandria, Virginia. Marker is on Prince Street west of South Union Street, on the right when traveling west. Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 115 Prince Street, Alexandria VA 22314, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. The Fairfax House (within shouting distance of this marker); Home of Elisha Cullen Dick (about 300 feet away, measured in a direct line); George Johnston's Home (about 300 feet away); The Athenaeum (about 400 feet away); War of 1812 John Fitzgerald (about 400 feet away); Green & Brother Furniture (about 400 feet away); The Port City (about 400 feet away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Alexandria.
Regarding 115 Prince Street. Wiki Travel says that "Captains Row contains many of the oldest residences in the city, mostly consisting of Federal style houses built by wealthy merchants and sea captains. Complete with cobblestones and charming architectural details, this is probably one of the most picturesque colonial village blocks anywhere."
Also see . . . 115 Prince Street,. Virtual Home Visit by Sotheby's International. (Submitted on February 17, 2014, by Allen C. Browne of Silver Spring, Maryland.)
Credits. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016. It was originally submitted on February 17, 2014, by Allen C. Browne of Silver Spring, Maryland. This page has been viewed 633 times since then and 15 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7. submitted on February 17, 2014, by Allen C. Browne of Silver Spring, Maryland. • Bernard Fisher was the editor who published this page.