“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
10 entries match your criteria.  


Historical Markers and War Memorials in Carroll County, Mississippi

Clickable Map of Carroll County, Mississippi and Immediately Adjacent Jurisdictions image/svg+xml 2019-10-06 U.S. Census Bureau, Abe.suleiman; Lokal_Profil;; J.J.Prats/dc:title> Carroll County, MS (10) Attala County, MS (10) Grenada County, MS (19) Holmes County, MS (21) Leflore County, MS (30) Montgomery County, MS (11)  CarrollCounty(10) Carroll County (10)  AttalaCounty(10) Attala County (10)  GrenadaCounty(19) Grenada County (19)  HolmesCounty(21) Holmes County (21)  LefloreCounty(30) Leflore County (30)  MontgomeryCounty(11) Montgomery County (11)
Carrolton is the county seat for Carroll County
Adjacent to Carroll County, Mississippi
      Attala County (10)  
      Grenada County (19)  
      Holmes County (21)  
      Leflore County (30)  
      Montgomery County (11)  
Touch name on this list to highlight map location.
Touch blue arrow, or on map, to go there.
1 Mississippi, Carroll County, Avalon — "Mississippi" John Hurt
John S. Hurt (1893-1966) was a pioneer blues and folk guitarist. Self-taught, Hurt rarely left his home at Avalon, where he worked as a farmer. Although he recorded several songs in 1928, including "Avalon Blues" and "Frankie, he lived in . . . Map (db m160396) HM
2 Mississippi, Carroll County, Avalon — 32 — Mississippi John Hurt
Front World-renowned master of the acoustic guitar John Hurt, an important figure in the 1960s folk blues revival, spent most of his life doing farm work around Avalon in Carroll County and performing for parties and local gatherings. . . . Map (db m160397) HM
3 Mississippi, Carroll County, Carrollton — Carrollton
Home of James Z. George & Hernando D. Money. Friends and neighbors; buried here in Evergreen Cemetery. Both statesmen served long in public life as lawyers, jurists, and U.S. senators.Map (db m170284) HM
4 Mississippi, Carroll County, Carrollton — Elizabeth Spencer — Mississippi Writers Trail —
Born in Carrollton in 1921, Elizabeth Spencer aspired to be a writer early on. After receiving encouragement from writer Eudora Welty, whom she met while attending Belhaven College in Jackson, Spencer obtained a master's degree from Vanderbilt . . . Map (db m170313) HM
5 Mississippi, Carroll County, Carrollton — Malmaison
Northwest 9 miles is site of plantation mansion of Greenwood Leflore, chief of Choctaws, statesman and planter. Home burned, 1942. His grave is near the site.Map (db m170285) HM
6 Mississippi, Carroll County, Carrollton — 27 — Namour & Smith
Blending blues and old-time dance tunes, fiddler William T. Narmour (1889-1961) and guitarist Shellie W. Smith (1895-1968) became an influential duo with forty-eight recordings for Okeh and Bluebird records from 1928 to 1934 that often . . . Map (db m170375) HM
7 Mississippi, Carroll County, Coila — Sgt. John A. PittmanMedal of Honor
The Medal of Honor is the highest award for valor in action against an enemy force which can be bestowed upon an individual serving in the Armed Services of the United States of America. Sgt. Pittman earned this medal by his actions in Korea on 26 . . . Map (db m62805) WM
8 Mississippi, Carroll County, North Carrollton — Carroll County Tabernacle
The Carroll County Tabernacle was established in 1922 when T.N. Bloodworth donated nearly two acres of land to organize a Methodist revival meeting place. Funds were raised in 1929 to erect a meeting place that could seat 1.000 attendees. The . . . Map (db m170283) HM
Paid Advertisement
9 Mississippi, Carroll County, Vaiden — Applewhite Cemetery
The Applewhite Cemetery, dating from before the Civil War, was established by James Applewhite (1792-1872), a Methodist minister. Included among the burials here, the earliest of which is 1856, are veterans of the War of 1812, Civil War, and . . . Map (db m219768) HM
10 Mississippi, Carroll County, Vaiden — Shongalo Church
E. 150 ft. Organized at Old Shongalo, 1mi. W., by Clinton Presbytery, Aug. 29, 1835. Rev. A.C. Dickerson was first minister. Present structure completed 1875. Upper story built and used by Masons.Map (db m179027) HM
CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
Paid Advertisements

Jun. 3, 2023