“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
8 entries match your criteria.  


Historical Markers in Garfield County, Nebraska

Clickable Map of Garfield County, Nebraska and Immediately Adjacent Jurisdictions image/svg+xml 2019-10-06 U.S. Census Bureau, Abe.suleiman; Lokal_Profil;; J.J.Prats/dc:title> Garfield County, NE (8) Custer County, NE (10) Holt County, NE (9) Loup County, NE (2) Valley County, NE (2) Wheeler County, NE (1)  GarfieldCounty(8) Garfield County (8)  CusterCounty(10) Custer County (10)  HoltCounty(9) Holt County (9)  LoupCounty(2) Loup County (2)  ValleyCounty(2) Valley County (2)  WheelerCounty(1) Wheeler County (1)
Burwell is the county seat for Garfield County
Adjacent to Garfield County, Nebraska
      Custer County (10)  
      Holt County (9)  
      Loup County (2)  
      Valley County (2)  
      Wheeler County (1)  
Touch name on this list to highlight map location.
Touch blue arrow, or on map, to go there.
1 Nebraska, Garfield County, Burwell — First Settlers in GarfieldNovember 1872
Dedicated to the Charles H. Jones, Truman Freeland, and Thomas McClimans families, first settlers in Garfield County; and the many other pioneers who followed.Map (db m181897) HM
2 Nebraska, Garfield County, Burwell — 188 — Garfield County
In 1872, settlement pioneered by Charles H. Jones in what is now Garfield County, followed the North Loup River northwestward to its junction with the Calamus River. In 1875, the post office serving the area near the confluence of the rivers was . . . Map (db m181898) HM
3 Nebraska, Garfield County, Burwell — 103 — Kamp Kaleo
On September 29, 1875, Richard McClimans filed a timber claim on this site under the provisions of the Timber Culture Act of 1873. The original act, sponsored by Senator Phineas W. Hitchcock of Nebraska, enabled homesteaders to acquire up to a . . . Map (db m181986) HM
4 Nebraska, Garfield County, Burwell — 539 — Railroad Turntable1887-1983
Burwell began as a post office named The Forks in 1875. The town was incorporated as a village and changed its name to Burwell in 1884. Three years later, the newly-incorporated Lincoln & Black Hills Railroad laid track from Central City to . . . Map (db m179191) HM
5 Nebraska, Garfield County, Burwell — 307 — The Calamus Valley
The source of the Calamus River is spring-fed Moon Lake, 60 miles northwest of here. The river was named after a common marsh plant eaten by muskrats. Archeological evidence indicates that prehistoric Indians camped in the valley as early as 3,000 . . . Map (db m189344) HM
6 Nebraska, Garfield County, Burwell — 374 — The Easter Blizzard of 1873
One of the worst storms in Nebraska history struck without warning on Easter Sunday, April 13, 1873. Rain began to fall in the afternoon and evening, later changing to snow. By Monday morning heavy, wet snow, driven before howling northwesterly . . . Map (db m181900) HM
7 Nebraska, Garfield County, Burwell — 326 — The North Loup Project
The North Loup Project was authorized as a multi-purpose flood control and irrigation project by the Flood Control Act of 1944. The Twin Loups Reclamation District, organized in January 1954, and The Twin Loups Irrigation District, organized in . . . Map (db m189376) HM
8 Nebraska, Garfield County, Burwell — 373 — The Pebble Creek Fight
In 1872-73 white settlers were moving into the North Loup Valley. Their presence sparked occasional conflicts with Lakota Sioux wandering down from the north to hunt or raid the Pawnee Reservation near Genoa. On January 18, 1874, Sioux passing . . . Map (db m181899) HM
Paid Advertisement
CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
Paid Advertisements

May. 28, 2023