“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
12 entries match your criteria.  


Historical Markers in Union County, Mississippi

Clickable Map of Union County, Mississippi and Immediately Adjacent Jurisdictions image/svg+xml 2019-10-06 U.S. Census Bureau, Abe.suleiman; Lokal_Profil;; J.J.Prats/dc:title> Union County, MS (12) Benton County, MS (6) Lafayette County, MS (62) Lee County, MS (107) Marshall County, MS (29) Pontotoc County, MS (27) Prentiss County, MS (14) Tippah County, MS (18)  UnionCounty(12) Union County (12)  BentonCounty(6) Benton County (6)  LafayetteCounty(62) Lafayette County (62)  LeeCounty(107) Lee County (107)  MarshallCounty(29) Marshall County (29)  PontotocCounty(27) Pontotoc County (27)  PrentissCounty(14) Prentiss County (14)  TippahCounty(18) Tippah County (18)
New Albany is the county seat for Union County
Adjacent to Union County, Mississippi
      Benton County (6)  
      Lafayette County (62)  
      Lee County (107)  
      Marshall County (29)  
      Pontotoc County (27)  
      Prentiss County (14)  
      Tippah County (18)  
Touch name on this list to highlight map location.
Touch blue arrow, or on map, to go there.
1 Mississippi, Union County, Blue Springs — Blue Springs
First settled as Ellistown in 1838, Blue Springs was formed when the Kansas City, Memphis, and Birmingham Railroad was built in 1888, bypassing Ellistown. Residents then migrated closer to the railroad. In 2007 Blue Springs became the home of Toyota . . . Map (db m102626) HM
2 Mississippi, Union County, Blue Springs — Blue Springs Baptist Church
Blue Springs Baptist Church was organized in 1891 and was originally part of the West Judson Association. The congregation occupied several buildings before purchasing the current property, which included a school building and six acres, in 1960. A . . . Map (db m171661) HM
3 Mississippi, Union County, Myrtle — Myrtle
Established as Candy Hill in 1857, the town's name was changed after the Civil War when it applied for a postal stop. The town moved in 1886 when the construction of the Kansas City, Memphis, and Birmingham Railroad bypassed the original settlement . . . Map (db m116159) HM
4 Mississippi, Union County, New Albany — B.F. Ford School
In 1912, the New Albany School Board established the Union County Training School at this site. After the original building burned, a new school was constructed in 1948. Designed by architect Robert McKnight, this Streamline Art Moderne-style . . . Map (db m199988) HM
5 Mississippi, Union County, New Albany — 91 — Elder Roma Wilson & Rev. Leon Pinson
Front The down-home gospel sounds of renowned Union County musicians Elder Roma Wilson (b. 1910) and Rev. Leon Pinson (1919-1998) won them many admirers among blues and folk music audiences, although they were evangelists rather than . . . Map (db m96789) HM
6 Mississippi, Union County, New Albany — Glenfield Baptist Church
Organized in 1890 was the Baptist Church of Christ at the Valley during pastorate of W.P. Hutchinson. Renamed Glenfield Baptist Church in 1908. Moved to this site under Dr. Percy Ray in 1941. Sanctuary built in 1964; partially destroyed by tornado . . . Map (db m102630) HM
7 Mississippi, Union County, New Albany — Ishtehotopah
Home ½ mi. SE. Last Chickasaw king, giving name to King's Creek & King's Ford Rd. (this highway). Authorized Monroe Mission; signed Pontotoc Creek Treaty, 1832, & led party to Indian Territory, where he died, 1840.Map (db m96767) HM
8 Mississippi, Union County, New Albany — 59 — Mosley and Johnson
Front Although the African American community of New Albany has been small in number, it has produced many citizens of distinction. In the fields of blues, rhythm & blues, and gospel music, the names of Sam Mosley, Bob Johnson, Billy . . . Map (db m96783) HM
Paid Advertisement
9 Mississippi, Union County, New Albany — New Albany, Mississippi
The Union County Seat since 1870, New Albany was established ca, 1840 after Moses Collins built a grist mill and saw mill on the banks of the Tallahatchie River. First surveyed in 1840 by Ira M. Kemp, New Albany was incorporated in 1850. Located on . . . Map (db m96772) HM
10 Mississippi, Union County, New Albany — Stratford Company
Northeast Mississippi's upholstered furniture industry began here in 1948. Founded by Morris Furtorian, a Russian immigrant from Chicago, the Stratford Company utilized assembly line methods developed by the automotive industry, an innovation that . . . Map (db m102629) HM
11 Mississippi, Union County, New Albany — Union County, Mississippi
Union County was established on July, 7, 1870, during the post—Civil War Reconstruction era, from portions of Tippah, Lee, and Ponotoc counties. Governor James L. Alcorn appointed Union County's first officials and set New Albany as the county . . . Map (db m96777) HM
12 Mississippi, Union County, New Albany — William Faulkner
Here, September 25, 1897, was born the distinguished author, member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and recipient of the 1949 Nobel Prize in Literature.Map (db m96769) HM
CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
Paid Advertisements

May. 30, 2023